Thanksgiving Bento Blog Hop

Today marks the day that a lot of bento bloggers are making their lunches to show what they are thankful for.

As a Brit I was never taught the story behind Thanksgiving, which I’m sorry about as I love learning about other cultures so maybe that will be my homework.

As some of you may know my bento mojo went away, it came back shortly for my pokemon bento but it seems to have been busy again today.

Here is the rather poor attempt at a thanksgiving bento:

20121114-113846.jpg

So the question posed is “What am I thankful for?”
The answer? Family.

I’m thankful for both the family I was born into and the family I have chosen in the form of my partner, our cat River and our chinchilla Fontaine.
And what better way to sum up family than love.

So this box has a red rice and beetroot heart, heart shaped tamagoyaki, instant pickled radishes and mixed oriental vegetables.

Now click the button below to head over to BentOnBetterLunches and don’t forget it’s a loop so keep going until you get back to me 🙂

61 Comments

  1. What an awesome bento lunch! Love the red heart tamagoyaki! How is it done? Don’t tell me you love rodents. My children have hamsters at home which is the only rodent I can take for now. I used to care for bunnies, but they just multiply so fast I had to giveaway. They’re beyond manageable unless you only have 1.

    • Thankyou, it was really simple, I just put grated beetroot in with the rice as it cooked 🙂

      I don’t normally like rodents but because chinchillas look like super cute rabbity things, I do love her haha

      Yeah I had rabbits that were both meant to be boys, I discovered they weren’t when I woke up one day to five baby rabbits haha

  2. As a Brit who now lives in Canada, our Thanksgiving in October seems to follow the roots of harvest festivals. I could be wrong. Either way, it’s the best holiday ever – all about the food and being with the people you love, but no gift exchanging. It’s awesome!

Leave a comment