DIY BENTO PICKS/CUPCAKE TOPPERS AND TUTORIAL #2

20140114-185235.jpg

I’m sure you know by now that I love making my own things. I will try my hand at making almost anything but clothing and bento goodies are my favourites.

I have already made a Bento pick tutorial post and a DIY baran tutorial, but it’s about time I did another DIY bento pick tutorial.

This time I got the amazing idea to use ShrinkyDink (the pack I bought was called Shrinkles) from Licious Lunches

Onto the tutorial

First draw a circle around 2 inches across ( or 6.28″ circumference) and add a 2″ long, 1/2 an inch thick “stick” with a point at the end.

20140114-191318.jpg

Then trace this onto the sheets. I managed to get 12 onto one, just slightly smaller than, a4 sheet.
In my set was 6 sheets and cost me £4.95. That’s 72 bento picks for less than £5. Not bad aye!

Cut out the shapes and then draw whatever you want onto the rough side. Or you can cheat like me and trace 🙂

When you’re happy with the designs put them smooth side down in a baking tray lined with foil and put into the oven.
I put mine at the bottom of the oven and left for around 4/5 minutes but times may vary.

Once they have laid flat (or as flat as possible) remove them quickly from the oven, lift out the foil and place a heavy book on top of the picks to flatten them out and stop them from curling while cooling.

Et voila.

20140114-192203.jpg

Mine came out with the circle being about the size of a 20p piece.

11 Comments

Leave a Reply

