Alessi Secret Fish Bento Review

Another chapter in the Wayfair saga!

I was graciously sent an Alessi Secret Fish to review, and while not marketed as a bento box that doesn’t mean it can’t be one πŸ™‚

20130703-131444.jpg

Onto the review

Cost: 3/5

At Β£42 for 2 boxes that puts each box at Β£21. In comparison to other boxes this is quite expensive, I do however believe these boxes are a bento equivalent to your “best china”.

If you’re making a very, very special bento these Alessi Secret Fish could be the box for that!

Size: 3/5

At around 250ml per box they may feel quite small but if you’re using both that’s 500ml which is perfect for smaller appetites!

Ease Of Use: 3/5

It is such a shame I can’t give this a higher mark, it’s distinctive shape was what attracted me to this box but sadly after trial and error it’s shape is what makes it hard to pack.
( This may only apply to me, if you have some ideas feel free to throw them my way and I’ll see what I can do! )

With small spaces in the tail region it may be difficult to get food in or out, especially for younger children.

Style: 5/5

With 3 colour variations and an amazing stylised fish shaped body the Alessi Secret Fish boxes have lots of style. These boxes are sure to get “Wows” and “Ooohs” galore!

I will say however the colours in the photos are extremely bright when in reality the colours are slightly darker, but beautiful all the same with a great speckled detail.

Pros:
β€’ Beautiful shape and colours.
β€’ Great for smaller appetites.
β€’ Perfect for special occasions.

Cons:
β€’ Quite heavy.
β€’ Possibly cost prohibitive.

Overall the Alessi Secret Fish are extremely special items and as such I feel they are not necessarily suitable for everyday use but would be perfect for when a Tupperware box just won’t do!

Disclaimer
I received the product to review but no cash was exchanged, my review is my honest opinion and has not been swayed by the company or anyone else.

β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”

As always here is a lunch packed in the box :

20130703-133121.jpg

This bento contains hard boiled egg mixed into rice with carrot and cucumber details, does it look like a fish?

6 Comments

  1. I think that the lunch looks great and I liked the review. I had never heard of this box before. It would make a great box for a special snack or breakfast. Also maybe an Alien themed breakfast would be fun in this box or a fat rabbit.

Leave a Reply

