EasyLunchBoxes Review and two bento

So first off let’s get the bento out of the way so we can get on to the review!

20121129-203712.jpg

These EasyLunchBoxes contained chicken, vegetable and prawn rice with cherry tomatoes. Mine had a teddy bear shaped egg and instant cucumber pickles. My partners had egg mixed into the rice and some sweet chilli sauce in the other compartment.

Now the review!!

I have to admit I was worried about using the EasyLunchBoxes only because most of the bento I make are traditional. What I did like is that this gave me a chance to think out of the box. I decided I would try to keep quite traditional while using this box.

When I opened the package that contained these I was shocked by something I heard over my shoulder,
” Wow they look miles better than normal bento boxes!” This was said by my partner who is usually less than enthusiastic about using bento boxes.

Cost: 5/5
The EasyLunchBoxes cost $13.95 (£8.70) for four which in my eyes is extremely affordable and cheap when compared to other boxes that can cost 3x more for only one box.

Size: 5/5
The size of the boxes is a great selling point, with the main compartment being around 600ml and being wide enough for if you wanted to make a kyaraben lunch or just pack a sandwich. Then there are two smaller side compartments that can be used for side dishes, sauce or a sweet. One smaller compartment is 200ml and the other is 150 ml.

Ease of use 5/5
One of the best things about the EasyLunchBoxes is the compartments, they make packing the boxes very simple. You can pack hot food next to cold without the cold food heating up ( pointed out by my partner when he stated “My tomatoes are still cold!”

Pros:
• Cheap but not cheaply made.
• Great compartment sizes.
• Pack of four for families or groups of friends.
• Good portion sizes.
• One compartment can be cold and one warm without affecting each other.

Cons:
• I cannot find one so please let me know if you find one so I can investigate!

For anyone interested in making bento, I’m hoping to publish an English language tutorial magazine, so please check out my kickstarter page

Disclaimer
I received the product to review but no cash was exchanged, my review is my honest opinion and has not been swayed by the company or anyone else.

12 Comments

  1. I’ve heard the compartments aren’t leakproof. Probably not a big deal for adults, but for moms packing lunches, something to consider. The company has made some dipper boxes that seal nicely, but for kid food like yogurt and applesauce, they may not be big enough…?

    • I don’t really have a recipe sadly, I tend to just throw things together but I’ll give you a quick run down 🙂

      • First defrost chicken and prawns ( We bought small bags of each and I’m not sure how much you would need per person) and sprinkle with your favourite spices.
      • while rice is boiling cut up any vegetables you like.
      • place the chicken in a wok and add the prawns, fry until nearly cooked, pour in the vegetables. When the vegetables are nearly done pour in the rice.
      •mix in some spices with about 100ml of water and add to the wok. Simmer until the water has gone but keep stirring.
      • it should now be ready to serve 🙂

  2. Pingback: Introducing our Bento Friend Across the Pond

  3. Pingback: Top 5 Back to school Rundowns!!! | Oh!Bento

Leave a Reply

