Marbled Egg tutorial

20120805-235247.jpg

A great way to spice up an Easter bento ( or even just the boiled eggs for breakfast on Easter) are these marbled, brightly coloured eggs! Now I know some people will see these and be horrified at the amount of synthetic dyes used, but unless you want to you don’t need to use food dye. I used water from red cabbage! So here are the steps!
•cook egg to own standards but must be boiled to work!
• crack shell all the way around egg but DO NOT REMOVE 🙂
• use whatever kind of dye you wish (natural/synthetic), I find the best thing to do is put the egg in a cup and use the dye to cover the egg.
• leave in the fridge for at least an hour, I left mine over night for this bright colour 🙂
• if putting into a bento you can either leave the egg as is, put in a mold and make a marbled bunny or cut into slices 🙂

6 Comments

    • Thank you for the comment 🙂

      Sadly all of the Asian stores near me are very small and don’t stock a lot of stuff so I’ve never seen a “tea egg” but it sounds cool and I may have to give it a try!

      Thankyou, I prefer natural processes so I’m always trying to find ways to create colour without synthetics 🙂

      • I think it’s a famous Chinese egg. I’m sure some Asian store will sell it.
        I’m thinking of trying it myself when I go back home. It always looked very interesting to me haha.

        Actually there are many websites about using herbs to create natural colourings. Don’t have them by hand now. But I’m sure google will give good results ;p

      • I’ll have to have a hunt around, it will be interesting to see the similarities and the differences between the Chinese egg and mine 🙂

        Yeah, I’ve read a few before but a lot of stuff seems hard to get hold of or not something that could really be used for other stuff 😦

Leave a Reply

